Matt's Muv601 Blog

A blog all about my MUV experience

The Initial Plan

The Idea:

I have decided that I would like to do content creation and at this point in time am leaning towards the visual complexity path. So the idea that I have is to construct a basic beach house with some furniture inside. I say beach house but I’m not sure that would be exactly what it is, I guess more of a modern style holiday home. I am planning for the building itself to not be that complex, in a way a more minimalistic design with straight angles and simple texturing. The idea is that a majority of the complexity will come from the furniture housed inside. For the house itself I am thinking that I would like to have it as open plan living with a kind of loft as the second story. I am also planning to create a staircase that leads up to the loft as well. I was initially thinking of a spiral staircase but I have a feeling that with the camera angles in Second Life it might not be the best idea.

The Purpose:

The purpose of this build is to provide a nice place to relax and enjoy the view after a hard day’s work.

What will I need?

When I envisage the end product I see the use of a few key textures, some of which I have and others I may need to obtain or create myself. Also I think that I can do almost all I need with the scripts that I have at the moment, except perhaps for one in particular. That would be a script to turn a light on and off, as I am planning to make a lamp with this feature. Well now that I am thinking about it I may also want a script to open and close a door, however I am not sure that I want to have doors or not at this stage. I am thinking more of an open plan living, if I were to have a door it would just be the entrance door to the house.

What Types of textures:

Thinking about the types of textures that I would like to use, I was thinking of using a canvas like texture for some of the furniture cushion covering inside the house and was also thinking of metallic black for the lamp pole. For the house itself I was thinking along the lines of a rocky type texture to get that modern feel, and of course I would need some mostly transparent textures to use as windows.

Do I think it is feasible within the given time frame?

I would have to say that I think that this build is 100% doable within the given time frame. However if I feel that I am running short on time I could leave out some of the furniture items and only focus on key pieces that will tick off parts of the assignment.

What I hope the end product will be:

I would like the end product to be visually appealing. Not in the way that makes you go “WOW” but just in the way that you don’t look at it and go “omg what were they thinking when they made that”. Other than that I would just like it to be functional, as in I would like it to work as a relaxing environment as well as cover the aspects of the assignment that it needs to.

Proposed Project Plan/ Timeline:

Week End: Sunday 13th May

The plan is to have my initial planning blog post done by this date. If it has not been blogged at least have a draft done in MS Word.

Week End: Sunday 20th May

Must have Initial Plan blogged and also either blogged or have a draft version of my Design and Development post. Also plan on doing some small testing of builds to see how it will go.

Week End: Sunday 27th May

Must have must Design and Development blog post completed and posted by this stage. Also start on the build taking note of any difficulties that I have and start noting down aspects of the assignment I have completed.

Building Task: Rough outline of the actual house

Week End: Sunday 3rd June

Continue on with the build, noting and difficulties I am having and aspects of the assignment I have completed. Compile a blog post that covers my progress so far detailing the problems and solutions, as well as aspects of the assignment that I have completed/having trouble with.

Building Task: Complete House with textures

Week End: Sunday 10th June

Continue on with the build, noting and difficulties I am having and aspects of the assignment I have completed.

Building Task: Start building furniture

Week End: Sunday 17th June

Continue on with the build, noting and difficulties I am having and aspects of the assignment I have completed. Compile a blog post detailing my progress through the assignment cover any significant problems I had to deal with.

Building Task: Texture Furniture and add scripts

Assignment End: Monday 25th June

Complete all the finishing touches on the build and compile a blog post that covers my reflections on the build and what I think of the final outcome.

Building Task: Finish off anything unfinished and test everything works as expected.

–Matt~

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

